what is postnatal development

What Is Postnatal Development? Postnatal growth consists of at least three distinct phases, infancy, childhood, and puberty (11), which are influenced by different growth factors. Infant growth is largely a continuation of in utero growth, is influenced predominantly by nutrition, and is largely growth hormone independent (12).

What does postnatal development mean? The postnatal period – defined here as the first six weeks after birth – is critical to the health and survival of a mother and her newborn. The most vulnerable time for both is during the hours and days after birth.

What is pre and postnatal development? Prenatal growth was defined as size at birth. Infancy was partitioned into early infancy growth (from birth to 4 months) and late infancy growth (from 4 months to 1 year). Late postnatal growth was defined as growth from 1 to 9 years.

What are the 5 stages of postnatal development? The five life stages of postnatal development are: 1) neonatal, 2) infancy, 3) childhood, 4) adolescence, and 5) maturity. The neonatal period extends from birth to one month.

What are the factors of postnatal development?

Postnatal environmental factors affecting growth include nutrition, disease, socioeconomic status, urbanization, physi- cal activity, climate, and psychosocial deprivation.

How long is postnatal period?

Your Guide to Postpartum Recovery. The first six weeks after giving birth are known as the postpartum period. This period is an intense time that requires all sorts of care for you and your baby.

What is the difference between postnatal and postpartum?

Though synonyms, and essentially interchangeable, these two terms have different connotations. Both refer to the period after birth. However, postpartum is correlated with the mother’s condition after birth, whereas postnatal relates to the baby. As such, MamaCare uses the mother-centred term more frequently.

What is difference between prenatal and antenatal?

As adjectives the difference between antenatal and prenatal is that antenatal is occurring or existing before birth while prenatal is being or happening before birth.

What are the 4 main types of growth and development?

Human development is a lifelong process of physical, behavioral, cognitive, and emotional growth and change.

What are the 7 stages of growth and development?

The developmental psychology has seven stages this includes infancy, childhood, lover, solder, justice, old age and, finally, dementia and death.

What are the 4 stages of growth and development?

Human development is a predictable process that moves through the stages of infancy, childhood, adolescence, and adulthood.

How many stages are there in human development?

The 8 Stages of Human Development.

What are the divisions of the postnatal period?

The postnatal period is generally distributed into three distinct, but continuous phases: Acute Phase: 24 hours immediately following delivery. Sub-Acute Phase: can last 2-6 weeks following delivery. Late Phase: can last from 6 weeks – 6 months following delivery.

What is Apgar pregnancy?

Apgar is a quick test performed on a baby at 1 and 5 minutes after birth. The 1-minute score determines how well the baby tolerated the birthing process. The 5-minute score tells the health care provider how well the baby is doing outside the mother’s womb.

Why do you bleed after birth?

If you have a vaginal delivery or Cesarean section, you’ll have vaginal bleeding and discharge after birth. This is known as lochia. It’s how your body gets rid of the extra blood and tissue in your uterus that helped your baby grow. Bleeding is heaviest the first few days after your baby is born.

Why is antenatal important?

The purpose of antenatal care is to prevent or identify and treat conditions that may threaten the health of the fetus/newborn and/or the mother, and to help a woman approach pregnancy and birth as positive experiences.

What are the four components of antenatal?

According to WHO, the standard quality of ANC is comprised of three components: (i) assessment, that is history taking, physical examination and laboratory tests, (ii) health promotion, that includes advice on nutrition, planning the birth, information regarding pregnancy, subsequent contraception and breastfeeding, …

What is the importance of postnatal care?

The main purpose of providing optimal postnatal care is to avert both maternal and neonatal death, as well as long-term complications.

What are the main types of development?

Physical, intellectual, social, emotional, and moral.

What are the 4 stages of life cycle?

The life cycle has four stages—introduction, growth, maturity, and decline.

What are the 7 life stages?

There are seven stages a human moves through during his or her life span. These stages include infancy, early childhood, middle childhood, adolescence, early adulthood, middle adulthood and old age.

Shopping Cart
Scroll to Top